Tandoori Chicken and Cauliflower “Rice” with Tandoori Spice

Before my mom came to visit, I made this recipe which was very delicious but unfortunately had a slightly more subtle flavor than I would have liked.  I’m not sure what I could have done differently to enhance the flavor, but I will definitely experiment with it in the future to bring out the delicious spices a little more.  It was an easy recipe to make though, and I have now been introduced to Tandoori spice as a flavoring ingredient to use in other dishes as well.

I wasn’t able to find kosher chicken thighs, so I used drumsticks (about 2 lbs.)… Whole311

I then made the marinade using 1 cup of full fat coconut milk, 1 Tablespoon of Tandoori seasoning, and the juice of half a lemon.  Here’s what the marinade looked like once it was all mixed up: Whole312

I then poured it over the chicken and used my hands to press the marinade into the chicken pieces, and I let it marinate in the fridge for the whole day while I was at work. Whole313

When I got home from work, I followed the directions from the original recipe to bake it in the oven–I put a wire rack on a baking sheet covered in foil, and coated the rack with melted coconut oil, then I baked the chicken in the oven for about 40 minutes at 375, flipping it half way through the baking time.

Whole305

Whole306

On the side, I made Cauliflower Rice with Tandoori Spices, which I cooked in the wok in coconut oil along with 1 chopped onion, 1 chopped garlic clove and I added salt, pepper and another Tablespoon of the tandoori spice. Whole307 That was one of the best side dishes I’ve made in a long time and it was delicious and quite easy!

Whole308

This entry was posted in Paleo, Poultry, Side-Dishes, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment