Spaghetti (Squash) & Turkey Meatballs

Saturday night for dinner we had Spaghetti Squash with a new Turkey meatball recipe.  Doing this Whole30 Challenge has allowed me to learn many new recipes for old stand-bys that are not Paleo-friendly or Whole30 Compliant.  Normally when I make meatballs, I use breadcrumbs but bread is a big no-no on the Whole30 Challenge, so instead of bread crumbs, this meatball recipe uses coconut flour!

It was also different from my usual meatballs in that it had you add an orange bell pepper and a green onion to the meat mixture and rather than sauteeing them on the stove, the recipe had you bake them in the oven.

The recipe had you mix together in a large bowl:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 3 large garlic cloves
  • 1/3 cup orange bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1 stalk of green onion
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

and then you bake for 20-25 minutes at 375, turning them over half way through the baking time.

Here were the meatballs ready to go in the oven!turkeymeatballs

We had them over spaghetti squash with some store-bought tomato sauce (that I checked to ensure Whole30 Compliance).  Yum yum!

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Paleo, Poultry, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

