Zoodles with Chicken & Pesto

Last weekend I stumbled upon a Williams Sonoma that I had never seen before, so I went in and bought a Julienne peeler/Mandolin.  I had seen a lot of recipes that involved “Zoodles,” (aka Zucchini noodles) and figured a Julienne peeler would be useful to have if we are going to start incorporating some of these Paleo recipes into our regular rotation once this Challenge is over.  I thought chicken and pesto would be yummy with the Zoodles  and after looking at a bunch of recipes online, I felt comfortable enough making up my own recipe.  The result was delish!

Here’s what I did…

First, I cut 3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts into cubes and set those aside.

Then, I made my pesto: I lightly toasted 6 tablespoons of pine nuts in a pan on the stove for about 3-4 minutes until they got slightly browned and toasted.  I then put into the bowl of a food processor, 3 cups of fresh basil leaves, and added my mine nuts.  I added 2 chopped cloves of garlic and 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of salt.  I then pulsed the food processor using the regular blade until the ingredients were all finely chopped and then I turned the food processor on continuously and poured about 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil into the bowl of the food processor while it was going.  My goal was to get a nice paste formed.  I then tasted the pesto, and had Ken taste the pesto and we adjusted the seasoning as necessary.  Ken wanted to add a little more lemon juice to balance out the flavors a bit.  Whole301

Finally, I turned 4 zucchinis into Zoodles by using my Julienne peeler.  You can make wide noodles if you want or you can make skinnier noodles… that’s entirely up to you.  I was learning how to use my Julienne peeler and figuring out how to play around with the different settings, so I ended up with noodles of varying sizes.  You can stop peeling when you get to the seeds of the zucchini.Whole302

I then sauteed the chicken just a little bit in olive oil in a pan on the stove over medium heat.  Once the chicken started to cook a bit, I added about 2 Tablespoons of the pesto to the pan and stirred to coat the chicken in the pesto.  I then let the chicken cook, flipping the pieces periodically, for about 10-12 minutes.Whole30

Meanwhile, I heated up a little bit of olive oil in the wok on the stove over medium-high heat and I added my Zoodles to the wok to sautee a little bit.Whole303  Once my chicken was cooked through, I added the pesto-coated chicken to the wok with the zucchini and I stirred to combine everything, then we served it and ate it with additional pesto on the side to stir in individually.Whole304  Yummy!  zoodles

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Paleo, Poultry, Tips and Tricks, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

