Creativity

I finally decided that I have enough knowledge and creativity about cooking to start making up some of my own recipes.  Yesterday I was craving salmon and spinach for some reason (it’s funny for me to crave Spinach… but I guess that’s what the Whole30 Challenge will do to you–change the way you think about food and help curb cravings for unhealthy things), so I stopped at the grocery store on my way home from work and picked up a few ingredients.  After Julia went to sleep I got started!

Coconut Salmon:

First I preheated the oven to 325 degrees, and prepared a baking sheet by covering it with tin foil and greasing it with olive oil.  I then rinsed and patted dry 4 6-oz. salmon fillets and placed them skin-side down on the baking sheet.  I put 2 Tablespoons of coconut oil in the microwave for 30 seconds to melt it and then I brushed that all over each of the salmon fillets and sprinkled them each with salt and pepper.  Once the oven was heated up, I put the salmon in the oven and baked for 15 minutes.  You can check for done-ness by cutting in half the thickest piece of salmon and making sure that the inside is pink and cooked to your liking.

Sauteed Spinach with Mushrooms:

I heated up a large pan over medium-high heat, and added 1 Tablespoon of olive oil to the pan.  Once that was heated up, I added 2 chopped cloves of garlic.  Once the garlic became fragrant, I added 1/2 of a chopped yellow onion and 2 cups of sliced mushrooms.  I sauteed these until the onions were soft and translucent, and then added some salt and pepper.  Finally, I added about 6 cups of baby spinach and continued to sautee until the spinach was wilted.  Whole309

I served the salmon over a bed of the spinach and it was DELICIOUS!  Whole308

To be “restaurant quality,” I would have needed one more dish on the side… and I would have made a batch of sweet potato fries, except that I didn’t really feel like waiting another half an hour to eat.  It was already close to 8 by the time we ate dinner!

Breakfast this morning was another Monkey Salad (I am really loving these Monkey Salads and not getting sick of them at all!) only this time I added some raspberries in with my banana, and topped the fruit with a small handful of cashews and unsweetened coconut.  Yum Yum! Whole310

This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Fish, Nutrition, Paleo, Pareve, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creativity

  1. The coconut salmon is very creative, Anna. It looks like a lovely pairing with the sautéed spinach medley. Yes, sweet potato fries would have been a lovely pairing – good idea! The monkey salad sounds lovely – coconut and cashews are so addicting and scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

