The Whole30 Challenge Continues: Creamy Sweet Potato Basil Soup

Even though I haven’t posted in a day or so, the Whole30 Challenge is continuing and is going well!  Wednesday night we had leftovers from the previous night–spaghetti squash with artichoke pesto and chicken, and to go along with that, I made a delicious soup!  The original recipe, here, has you basically dump all the ingredients in the Crock Pot and then 3 hours later puree with an immersion blender, and taa daa!  But I didn’t get home from work until about 6 PM and by the time I fed Julia, gave her a bath and started cooking, we wouldn’t have had soup until 10:30 or 11 if I had to wait 3 hours.  So instead I made it the way I’ve always made soup… on the stove!  And it was DELICIOUS!

I had to make a few adjustments since I was cooking it on the stove top instead of in the crockpot, but here’s what I did for my Creamy Sweet Potato Basil Soup:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 14-oz. cans of coconut milk
  • 1.5 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1 Tablespoon of dried basil
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.  Once heated, add the onions and garlic and sautee  until the garlic is fragrant and the onion is soft and translucent. Whole30

Add the diced sweet potatoes, the salt and pepper and the basil to the pot and sautee for a few more minutes. Whole301

Add 1 can of coconut milk and 1 cup of the vegetable broth.Whole302

Bring the pot to a boil, then cover, reduce heat and simmer for 30-35 minutes until the sweet potatoes are soft.  Then, add the second can of coconut milk and the last 1/2 cup of vegetable broth and bring the soup back up to a boil.  Turn off the heat and then you can either use an immersion blender directly in the pot to puree the soup until it is creamy or you can transfer the soup (very carefully since it is very hot!) into a blender and use the blender to puree the soup.

Enjoy!Whole303I probably won’t be posting much over the weekend but I have a couple of exciting meals planned for the next few days!

Tonight I’m planning to make a vegetable frittata along with some sweet potato fries and steamed broccoli and tomorrow night we’ll be having chicken fried “rice” with riced cauliflower!  I’m sure I’ll have some updates to post Monday after my cooking adventures! Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Paleo, Soup, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

