Whole30 Day 1: Monkey Salad

Normally for breakfast, I don’t eat until I get to work and then I’ll grab either a bowl of oatmeal (with brown sugar) or a bagel with cream cheese from the cafeteria at the hospital.  One personal challenge with the Whole30 Challenge will be making sure I eat breakfast before I leave the house or making sure that I pick something healthy from the Cafeteria (luckily they do have some fruit and they have a Salad bar at lunch) and making sure that I pack a lunch to bring with me to eat at work (today for lunch I have leftovers from last night).

Since it’s still Day 1 of the Challenge, I’m still all enthusiastic and gung-ho but I’m sure by day 20 I won’t feel that way… this morning for breakfast I scrambled 2 eggs to share with Julia (scrambled eggs are one of the few things I can guarantee she will eat these days!) and made a Monkey Salad, which I have seen various places on the internet.  It was delicious!

  • 1 banana
  • 1 small handful of cashews
  • 1 small handful of unsweetened coconut flakes or coconut chips

Basically you just slice the banana into a bowl and top with the cashews and coconut.  No stirring necessary.  Just eat and enjoy!  Whole307

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Babies, Breakfasts, Paleo, Whole30, Whole30 Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

