Thanksgiving Menu

This will be my first time making Thanksgiving dinner essentially by myself and I’m not going to lie… I’m scared.  Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday.  I have so many fond memories of spending Thanksgiving with my parents and of the smells that emanate throughout the house.  I love watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and just lounging around the house spending the day together as a family.  But I’m scared that my cooking won’t quite stand up to that of my mother.  And she is, in my opinion, the best cook I know! 

Last year was our first year “hosting” Thanksgiving since Julia was just 6 weeks old when the holiday rolled around and we weren’t quite ready to travel, but this year my parents are unable to come to us so it will be just us and Ken’s parents.  My mom talked me, essentially step-by-step, through our Thanksgiving menu for this week  yesterday and I did the grocery shopping last night, so I will be sharing some of the recipes as I start to do the cooking, but first, I thought I would share our Thanksgiving Menu!  

Turkey

Stuffing

Gravy

Cranberry Sauce

String Beans

Yams

Apple Pie

Potato Latkes (since Thanksgiving will be the second night of Hanukkah!)

Also, Ken’s mom is making Strudel, and we have a few Hanukkah-themed desserts as well, including Jelly Donuts and Raspberry Rugelach.  

We’ll have some wine and maybe some pumpkin beer to have along with the meal.  Can’t wait to share some of our delicious creations with you later this week!  Happy Thanksgiving to all! 

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

