Chicken Goulash

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve updated this little blog of mine.  Somehow life seems to have gotten in the way of keeping up with this blog.  But I’ve been re-inspired now that the fall and winter holidays are coming up.  We have actually been doing a lot of cooking and have been making a lot of delicious recipes so I thought I would revitalize the blog with some new recipes!

So much has happened since I last wrote… we’re now living in Baltimore.  Ken is in his Ophthalmology residency and I am working as a real lawyer!  Julia is now 13 months old and is having a wonderful time at daycare.  She’s not really a baby anymore but she’s not quite a toddler yet.  She still has no teeth and she’s just on the verge of walking… she pulls up to stand and is cruising all over the place but she hasn’t yet taken any independent steps.  I’m sure it’s right around the corner.  She might have a couple of words here and there: yay, cat (which sounds more like “dat”), baby, Mama, Dada… but it’s hard to tell sometimes whether she’s just babbling in baby talk or whether she’s actually saying something.

Here are a few recent photos from Julia’s birthday photo shoot to give you an idea of the little person who’s been keeping me so busy: julia birthday4

Julia birthday2

Julia birthday1

Julia birthdayThe house we’re living in here in Baltimore has a lovely and large kitchen.  We have a big island which provides a lot of space to spread out.  It’s actually possible to keep a cookbook out and open and still have the space to have a big cutting board and mixing bowls out to do all your prep work.  The only thing our kitchen is lacking is cabinet space, but for now what we have will have to do.  I really have noticed that having a more cook-friendly kitchen definitely makes me want to cook more because it’s easier and more enjoyable.

Tonight I made Ken’s mother’s Chicken Goulash recipe.  This was the second time I made it in the last 2 weeks, which goes to show how delicious it is.  Ken wanted it twice!

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp. vegetable or olive oil

3 large chicken cutlets, tenders still attached

2 small-medium sized yellow onions

1-2 green peppers

1 15-oz. can of tomato sauce

1 tsp. of kosher salt

1/4 tsp. of ground black pepper

2 tsp. of paprika

1 lb. of elbow pasta

Directions:

Put a large pot of water on the stove to boil.

Slice the onion into rings and cut the chicken into cubes.  chickengoulashHeat a large skillet over medium heat.  Add oil to the pan, then add onions and chicken.  Brown the onions with the chicken, stirring often.  chickengoulash1

chickengoulash2Add spices and mix in thoroughly with the chicken and onions.  chickengoulash3chickengoulash4chickengoulash6

chickengoulash7

Add tomato sauce.  Reduce heat to low and allow to simmer, uncovered, for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  chickengoulash8Meanwhile, cut the green pepper into strips.  chickengoulash9Add the peppers to the chicken and allow to cook, covered, for an additional 5-10 minutes.  chickengoulash10Add uncooked pasta to the pot of boiling water and cook according to package directions.

Once pasta is done cooking, serve chicken goulash over pasta.chickengoulash12Enjoy! 🙂

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Goulash

  1. Pingback: Chicken Goulash Over Spaghetti Squash | Because kosher can be sexy, too!

Leave a Reply

