Shabbat Dinner With My In-Laws: Peach & Mixed Berry Crisp

My in-laws were here last week–they arrived on Monday in a van full of baby stuff from my brother-in-law and sister-in-law, and they stayed with us through Saturday afternoon.  While Ken and I went to work during the day, they spent their days playing tourist in New Orleans, and in the evenings we all got to go out to dinner several times, and just relax at home.  It was a lovely visit! 

On Friday night, my mother-in-law and I made Shabbat dinner together for the four of us.  Dinner consisted of a chicken dish that has been featured on this blog once before (Autumnal Roast Chicken), with steamed broccoli and challah (Dahlia’s recipe) and for dessert we had a Peach and Mixed Berry Crisp.  Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures of dinner or the dessert after cooking but I did get two pictures of the dessert “in progress.”  I actually made a mistake when following the directions on the dessert, and I’ll explain how I modified it–everyone agreed that the dessert was delicious so maybe the accidental modification was for the better!?

Ingredients:

  • 2 large peaches, peeled, pitted, chopped (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • 1 1/3 cups blueberries (about 6 ounces)
  • 1 1/3 cups raspberries (about 6 ounces)
  • 1 1/3 cups blackberries (about 5.6 ounces)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons plus 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons margarine

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8x8x2 1/2-inch square baking dish. Toss fruit, sugar and 2 tablespoons flour in large bowl to combine (this is where I made the accidental modification: I added all of the flour to mix in with the fruit but everyone decided that this made the fruit gel together a little more.  I then used additional flour for the crust on top, but not quite as much as the recipe calls for). Transfer to prepared baking dish.

Bake fruit until juices bubble, stirring occasionally, about 40 minutes. Bake without stirring another 5 minutes. Remove from oven. Increase oven temperature to 400°F.

Meanwhile, whisk remaining 3/4 cup flour, sugar, cinnamon, ginger and salt in medium bowl to blend. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until small moist clumps form.

Sprinkle topping evenly over hot fruit in dish.

Bake crisp until topping is golden brown, about 20 minutes. Cool slightly.  The original recipe suggests serving the crisp with vanilla ice cream but obviously since this was a meat meal, we couldn’t do that… it would have been tasty with a scoop of vanilla ice cream though, so maybe next time we’ll make it with a dairy meal so we can  have it a la mode!

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

