What?! Two recipe posts in one week?

I guess I’m going back to my old ways of cooking again… last night I made a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie!  Ken has always told me that he loves strawberry rhubarb pie, so the other day when I saw rhubarb in the grocery store, I bought some and bought some strawberries, and I figured I would be able to find a recipe for strawberry rhubarb pie!  Turns out Ken’s mom also loves strawberry rhubarb pie so they were both excited about it.  I found a recipe on Smitten Kitchen that I decided to try, and it turned out deliciously!  Ordinarily I would have made my own pie crust but, well, (a) I was lazy and (b) I was lazy, so I bought the pre-made pie crusts to use this time. 

Well anyways, here you go… the recipe from Smitten Kitchen:

Ingredients: (the recipe has you make your own pie crust, but like I said, I bought ready-made pie crusts (2 of them) and used those… I treated them like I would home-made pie crusts, so I didn’t bake them ahead of time or anything, I just filled one, put the other one on top, crimped the edges together, glazed the top crust, and baked as the recipe says to.

3 1/2 cups (about 1 1/2 pounds, untrimmed) rhubarb, in 1/2-inch thick slices
3 1/2 cups (about 1 pound) strawberries, hulled and sliced if big, halved if tiny
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup quick-cooking tapioca
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1 large egg yolk beaten to blend with 1 teaspoon water (for glaze)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Stir together rhubarb, strawberries, sugars, lemon, salt and tapioca in a large bowl. Mound filling inside bottom pie crust and dot with bits of unsalted butter. Roll second half of pie dough into an 11-inch circle and cut decorative slits in it. Transfer it to center over the pie filling. Trim top and bottom pie dough so that their overhang beyond the pie plate lip is only 1/2-inch. Tuck rim of dough underneath itself and crimp it decoratively.

Transfer pie to a baking sheet and brush egg yolk mixture over dough. Bake for 20 minutes then reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 25 to 30 minutes, until the pie is golden and the juices bubble visibly.

Transfer pie to wire rack to cool. When full cool (several hours later) the juices gel.

We at the pie a few hours after baking it–we went out to dinner and ate the pie for dessert when we got home.  We chose not to have it with vanilla ice cream, but it would have been very tasty with vanilla ice cream.  Having never had a strawberry rhubarb pie before, I don’t really have any basis for comparison, but I thought it was very tasty.  It was a little more tart than I normally like my desserts to be, but a little extra sugar would have helped that situation.  I didn’t get a chance to take any photos while putting the pie together (so I apologize that this one is not very pretty) but after we had each had a piece, I remembered to snap a photo–here’s the half eaten pie:

And here is a picture of my parents-in-law enjoying their slices.  I’d say the smiles on their faces indicate how delicious it was.  Success!

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

