I promised I would cook again soon… Honey Soy Broiled Salmon & Garlic Asparagus

I know it’s been a while and I keep promising I’ll cook more… I finally think it’s starting to happen.  Friday night I made a new salmon recipe… Honey Soy Broiled Salmon, a recipe I found at EatingWell.com.  I had never seen this website before, but I am very pleased with how the salmon turned out, so I would definitely consider trying other recipes from the site.  To go along with the salmon, I made up my own recipe for asparagus and I made some jasmine rice to go along with the meal.  I’d say it was a very well balanced, complete meal with some protein, some veggies and a starch.  Nice work, Anna!

So here we go… Ingredients:

  • 1 scallion, minced
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
  • 4 salmon fillets, approx. 1/4 lb. each
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame seeds (the recipe called for this but I didn’t do it… they have you add it as a garnish to the salmon after it’s all cooked…)

Instructions:

1) Whisk scallion, soy sauce, vinegar, honey and ginger in a medium bowl until the honey is dissolved.

Place salmon in a sealable plastic bag, add 3 tablespoons of the sauce and refrigerate; let marinate for 15 minutes. Reserve the remaining sauce.

2) Preheat broiler. Line a small baking pan with foil and coat with cooking spray.

3) Transfer the salmon to the pan, skinned-side down. Discard the marinade.

Broil the salmon 4 to 6 inches from the heat source until cooked through, 6 to 10 minutes. Drizzle with the reserved sauce and garnish with sesame seeds (as I mentioned above, I didn’t do this part).

Garlic Asparagus:

Basically what I did here was very simple… I snapped off the tough ends from 1 lb. of asparagus, and I put them in a foil-lined, sprayed baking pan.  I sprinkled them with salt and pepper, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of minced garlic.  I jostled them around a bit to make sure all the asparagus got some lemon juice and garlic, and then I cooked them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes.

The asparagus were quite tasty… just garlicky enough, and perfectly cooked!

The whole meal came together quite nicely, if you ask me!  There was a bit of extra sauce leftover that we sprinkled on top of the salmon and the rice.

And for those of you looking for a pregnancy update, I thought I’d give you a little one of those as well!  Tomorrow I will be 29 weeks pregnant, which means we have just 11 weeks until my due date, though at this point the baby could, theoretically, make an appearance any time.  Ken and I have our first “Childbirth Education Class” at the hospital on Wednesday, and I’m hoping we’ll get to go to all four weekly classes before the baby gets here, because otherwise we will be woefully unprepared, though frankly I don’t really know if I’ll ever feel prepared for this whole experience!

Here’s the last “Hump Day Bump Day” photo I took, last week at 28 weeks and 1 day… I took it myself, in the full-length mirror, so it didn’t turn out so great, but I did my best! 

I actually think the week before (27 weeks and 1 day) I looked more pregnant (funny though… same pants, same shoes, different shirt.  Really seems to depend on what I’m wearing and maybe on what position the baby is in), so for comparison’s sake, here’s that photo:

This week baby is the size of an eggplant, and she’s just busy growing and plumping up. 

At my last doctor’s visit, the doctor felt around and said that the baby is head down, so she’s got her feet up by my ribs and her head down next to my bladder.  No wonder I have to pee all the time!

Until next time…

This entry was posted in Fish, Pareve, Side-Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

