Day 10: Something I Made + a Whirlwind Weekend: Match Day, St. Patty’s Day, Super Sunday, Leslie’s Birthday

Day 10: Something I made.  Well given that this blog is a food and cooking blog, there are already lots of photos all over the blog of things I’ve made, but since this calls for a new photo to be posted, I will post some new photos.  I’ve decorated my office cubicle with some fun prints that I made back in the day when I used to work at a day-care center with mostly 2-year olds.  Every day we would do some artwork, which the kids always enjoyed, and I would always participate so that I could demonstrate the techniques we were working on.  Then I would take home my beautiful masterpieces and hang them on the wall.  Now those beautiful masterpieces are decorating the boring, gray and drab walls of my cubicle and I am going to share them with each and every one of you.

First up, we have a piece I call “Stars.”  It was made using star-shaped sponges, and paint. Next up, we have a piece I like to call “Orange Bursts.”  It was made using oranges that were cut in half, and then painted with orange paint and pressed on to the paper to make the beautiful Orange Bursts that you see.

Finally, we have a piece I call “Mardi Gras” which I can attribute to nothing other than Pure, Unadulterated Fingerpainting, using Mardi Gras Colors.  If I remember correctly, this was painted before I knew we were moving to New Orleans, so I think I must have had some sort of insight when I made this.

And now for some stories about our Whirlwind of a Weekend that we just had!  Amazingly, it’s still going on for another few hours, despite the fact that it’s Monday.

Thursday afternoon my parents flew to New Orleans from San Francisco.  They arrived in the late afternoon, went to get settled into their hotel and then came over for dinner.  Ken and I lost a bet to them a few months ago (I don’t want to talk about it, but it involved the Saints losing to the 49ers during the NFL Playoffs), and for losing that bet, we had to make them dinner.  So we made Shepherd’s Pie with ground lamb and sweet potatoes (you’ve all seen the recipe on this blog already), along with a salad of arugula, fennel and Belgian endive with a red wine vinaigrette, and for dessert we had coconut and pistachio sorbet that I bought from Breaux Mart.

Saturday morning we went to our friends’ house for breakfast (she made some of the most delicious waffles I have ever tasted) before walking across the street to Mardi Gras World for the Match Day Celebration.  Ken got his first choice for Internship Programs, which means that we will be staying here in New Orleans for another year before moving to Baltimore in June, 2013 for his Ophthalmology Residency.  Many of our friends also got their first or second choices for residency programs so all around I would say people were very happy.  Dr. Kahn, who made a speech before the ceremony began, mentioned that this year’s class was the most successful in terms of the number matched as well as in terms of the competitive specialties matched into.  I must say there were quite a few Orthopedic Surgeons, Otolaryngolists (ENTs), and Dermatologists.  For some reason, Family Medicine was more competitive than in most  years, but there are still quite a few people going into primary care specialties. 

After the Match Day Ceremony, a lunch was served and then we went off to enjoy the beautiful weather and the company of our family and friends.  Friday evening we went to dinner at Domenica, an Italian John Besh restaurant, which I’m sure I’ve mentioned on here before.  It’s one of our favorites, though it does have a tendency to be very loud inside. 

Saturday morning I had my Bat Mitzvah at one of the two synagogues we belong to in Metairie.  My god-mother, Leslie, with her husband, son and daughter-in-law (the ones who got married at the Chinese Restaurant in New York last summer) came to New Orleans specifically for my Bat Mitzvah (and also to enjoy some sight-seeing and other fun activities), and it was very nice to see them.  In the evening they joined our families for dinner at Lillette, a lovely French restaurant right aroun the corner from where we live.  The food was delicious, but the restaurant was quite noisy, and it seemed to get noisier as the night went on because there was one particularly loud group of young people who were hanging out at the Bar much of the evening. 

On Sunday, we  had breakfast with Ken’s parents, then I had brunch with my parents, and then we spent the afternoon at Super Sunday.  Super Sunday is a big celebration that the Mardi Gras Indians put on every year.  I don’t know the historical or cultural significance of the day, but it was unlike anything I had ever seen before.  It was a lot of fun to see the amazingly elaborate costumes and the dancing and music.  Additionally, every now and then, two tribes would have a little face-off of sorts and it was fascinating to watch how they interacted.  It was definitely an experience very unique to New Orleans. 

Yesterday evening, we went to dinner with Leslie and her family again, and then we went to the French Quarter for some drinks, some Piano Bar fun, and some coffee and beignets.  One of the piano players even sang “Happy Birthday” to Leslie because today happens to be her birthday. 

We’ll be joining them again this evening for dinner at Jacques Imo’s.  After tonight’s celebration I think we may be partied out for a few days… which is a good thing since this weekend we have the Retreat for our synagogue out in Utica, Mississippi and we will need to be nice and rested before driving up there.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Friends, Parties. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 10: Something I Made + a Whirlwind Weekend: Match Day, St. Patty’s Day, Super Sunday, Leslie’s Birthday

  1. Lucy says:

    I just clicked on your blog from your link @ thebump. Mazel tov on becoming bat mitzvah! What a blessing to do that while you’re pregnant. Bshah tovah!

Leave a Reply

