Day 5: Someone I Love & Apple Grapple!

Someone I love… that’s an easy one!  My husband, Ken!  I guess I can’t just tell you that I love him, I have to tell you why I love him.  I love him because he’s funny… he makes me laugh all the time!  I love him because he’s smart… he remembers random facts about things after hearing them just once, and that makes him really good at trivia.  I love him because he gets so passionate about things… like the Civil War, or like making chili, or like baseball uniforms.  I love him because he knows me so well… like there are times when I can give him a look and he knows exactly what I’m thinking.  Those are just some of the reasons I love my awesome and amazing husband, Ken.  Oh… and he’s gonna be a doctor, but I loved him before he even wanted to go to Medical School!  

And now… Apple Grapple.  This is a recipe that our Rabbi’s wife taught me how to make.  She had it in her list of recipes and it was originally from a friend of hers.  The name is funny and was probably made up by a child a long long time ago.  But this recipe is truly delicious!  I hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 large apples–you can really use any kind.  I used “Pink Lady Apples”
  • 1 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon juice
  • 1 cup of Margarine
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 cup of sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Peel and core the apples, and cut them up into bite-sized pieces. 

Mix the apples up with the lemon juice and cinnamon. 

Put the apples in an 8×8 square baking dish. 

For the crust, melt the margarine (you could use butter if you are making a dairy meal but we made this for a meat meal, so we used margarine).  Then stir in the flour and the sugar. 

Sprinkle the crust on top of the apples.  Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes, then serve!  We ate it plain, but I’m sure it would be tasty with some cool whip or vanilla ice cream, depending on what type of meal you were eating it with.

This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Pareve, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

