Day 2: What I Wore + Roasted Salmon with Potatoes and Mushrooms

Now that I’m a working woman (or Ken’s “sugar Mama” as he likes to call me) and I have a very regular schedule, it makes cooking during the week very hard so unfortunately I’ve been making very basic things during the week and I’ve been saving my more elaborate cooking for weekends.  Last weekend I made this dish, which I neglected to post until today but it was delicious.  Originally from Real Simple:  Roasted Salmon with Potatoes and Mushrooms

And… all of the photos in this post were taken by my dear husband, Ken! Including this one of me:

Ingredients:

    • 1 lb. small new potatoes, halved
    • 8 oz. button mushrooms
    • 3 tablespoons olive oil
    • Kosher salt and black pepper
    • 1 1/4 lbs. skinless salmon fillet
    • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
    • 1 tablespoon whole-grain mustard
    • 1 teaspoon honey
    • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  On a rimmed baking sheet, toss the potatoes, mushrooms, 1 tablespoon of the oil, and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper.  Roast, tossing once, until the potatoes begin to soften, about 20 minutes.Push the vegetables to the edges and place the salmon in the center.  Season with 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper.  Roast until the salmon is opaque throughout, the mushrooms are tender, and the potatoes are golden brown, 12-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk the vinegar, mustard, honey, parsley, the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil, and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper.  Drizzle over the salmon and vegetables before serving. And now… for my outfit.  I’ve been making a very conscious effort to put together nice outfits for work and so far it seems to be working.  I’ve been getting many compliments on my outfits, and especially on my shoes, since I do have some very beautiful shoes!  But I never think to ask Ken to take a photo of me before I leave for work and the first thing I do when I walk in the door after work is take off my work clothes and change in to workout clothes.  I’ve brought my phone with me to the bathroom at work intending to take a photo of my outfits, but each time I do that, there is someone else in the bathroom, so really my question to all the folks who have fashion blogs (especially the ones who post daily outfit photos) is this: how do you take photos of yourself every day without feeling really awkward about it (other than the obvious putting your camera’s self-timer on and taking one at home where nobody can see you)?

So I guess I chickened out and never felt comfortable enough to take a photo of myself  until today, when I went to Dillard’s because I had 30 minutes to kill.  I didn’t take a photo of what I was actually wearing but I took a photo of an outfit I tried on: It’s a black cowl-neck sweater dress with a pink skinny belt.  I was about thisclose to buying the dress… and then I put in on hold until Wednesday.  My friend Blair always used to do this trick when we would go shopping… she would say “if you leave the store without it, will you really regret it?”  So I’ve taken up this new habit of leaving the store without something but putting it on hold so that if I do really regret it I can always go back to pick it up.  Let me know what you think… Personally I really like it… it can be dressed up or dressed down–for work or for something more fancy.  I could wear it with boots or with heels… it was very comfortable and I thought the skinny belt was really cute with it (added a “pop” of color).  I’m open to suggestions!

 

This entry was posted in Fish, Pareve and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 2: What I Wore + Roasted Salmon with Potatoes and Mushrooms

  1. Kathleen says:

    I like the dress! You could use different colored belts too (depending on the season/your mood).

Leave a Reply

