Day 1: Self Portrait + My Mother-in-Law’s Kugel Recipe

I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted… things were a little crazy there for a while… I got back from Ohio and then I immediately started my job.  I was in training for 3 full days and then I finally went into my department on Thursday last week.  So I’ve only really had one full week of work in my department.  Everyone I work with is really friendly and they all seem to love their jobs, which is nice.  It would be miserable to work with people who are miserable in their work, so it’s nice that everyone seems to love what they’re doing and feel strongly about what they’re doing.  I always say in interviews that the type of person with whom I work best is someone who is passionate about what they do and I can definitely say that everyone I’ve met at work is passionate about what they’re doing, so that’s definitely a good thing.  I can tell already I am going to learn a lot in my new position, and I’m excited to get started on some projects!

Also, now that I have “normal person” hours, it will be nice to get onto some sort of routine, with going to the gym, cooking dinners, etc. etc.  Ever since we got back from Maryland at the end of July, it’s been hard to have a steady gym schedule since my schedule’s been so erratic.  I’m looking forward to just getting into a routine now.  Since May of 2010 I lost 83 lbs. but I put on about 10 since May, 2011, with the stress of graduation and the Bar Exam and what not, so I’d like to take off that 10 lbs, plus another 5 lbs between now and January, so I’m really planning to get back into a routine of going to the gym, cooking healthy food at home, and bringing healthy lunches with me to work.  I recently discovered a blog (thanks to my friend Kathleen), which has inspired me to take off these last 10 lbs and then some, to get to my “goal weight.”  The blog is written by a Jewish girl who seems to be very similar to me… she just graduated from law school and she’s working in her first big girl lawyer job.  She went to school in New York but now she’s moved to Washington, D.C. to be closer to her boyfriend.  She also happens to love Anthropologie.  I do love their clothes, though I don’t have many pieces from there because they tend to be WAY too expensive for my budget.  She also is a runner and has done a half marathon as well as some other races.  I always feel that when I have a specific goal to work toward, I do better with sticking with a plan, so right now I have an ideal “goal weight” in mind and I would like to be able to run a 5K by January and a 10K by April.  I’ll keep track of my progress on here, to keep myself accountable.

So today’s workout consisted of the following: 3.1 miles on the treadmill in 45 minutes + 60 crunches

Well anyway, now that I’m back and ready to blog, I’m getting started on the 30-day photo challenge, so here’s one for Day 1, a self-portrait.  I tried to use the self-timer on my camera, but I can’t seem to find a level surface to put it on that’s at the right height… it’s either too low, in which case the photo cuts off part of my head, or it’s too high and I look like Alice in Wonderland, shrinking to go down the Rabbit Hole.  So instead I used PhotoBooth on my computer.  I think this one turned out pretty well!  I’ve been experimenting with new products for my hair and I like the way the one I used this morning gave me ringlet curls on the side of my face.  I’m also thinking of getting a straightener, but I have no idea how I would look with straight hair… any thoughts?And now for today’s recipe… my Mother-in-Law’s Kugel Recipe!  (For those of you who are not familiar with Kugel, it’s also called “Noodle Pudding,” and it’s a dish that’s served along side a meat dish… traditionally it has dried fruit in it, and sometimes fresh fruit as well, and it can be either sweet or savory.)  Our friend Kathleen is having people over tonight for a dessert party since she found a cake recipe she wanted to make (she, like me, is very into food blogs and she enjoys experimenting with new recipes).  She’s also having wine and cheese, and she asked people to bring something so Ken suggested we bring a traditional Rosh Hashana dessert.  Since he is always raving about his mother’s kugel recipe, I decided to try making it, so she emailed it to us and it’s currently in the oven!  So here you go:

Ingredients:

  • 1 12 oz. bag of wide egg noodles
  • 3-4 medium red apples, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup of raisins (golden raisins work best)
  • a little more than 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 4 eggs beaten
  • 1 stick of margarine
  • 6-8 apricots, diced

Cook noodles according to package directions, and drain.  Mix noodles with margarine until melted.  Add the other ingredients and mix. Pour into a lightly greased rectangular pyrex dish.  Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour at 325 degrees.

This entry was posted in Fitness & Exercise, Pareve, Parties, Passover, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1: Self Portrait + My Mother-in-Law’s Kugel Recipe

  1. Kathleen says:

    I’m so glad you liked the blog! 🙂

    And Justin and I loved your kugel recipe. We’ll have to give it a try sometime.

Leave a Reply

