The easiest Veggie Lasagna EVER!

Tomorrow I’m going out of town for Kappa Kappa Gamma Leadership Academy (I’ll be back on Sunday and then I start my job on Monday morning at 8 AM!), and in order to make sure that my husband doesn’t eat Chicken Nuggets and Tater Tots all week (as he is wont to do), I decided I needed to fill up our refrigerator with leftovers.  So tonight I made a batch of vegetarian lasagna.  This recipe is originally from the magazine Real Simple, and is truly one of the easiest lasagna recipes I’ve ever seen, yet it tastes so delicious and complex:

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-oz. container of ricotta
  • 1 lb. of frozen broccoli florets–thawed, patted dry, and chopped
  • 2 1/4 cups of grated mozzarella (9 oz)
  • 1/2 cup of grated parmesan (2 oz)
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 16-oz. jar of marinara sauce
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 8 no-boil lasagna noodles
  • a little bit of olive oil

Directions: Heat oven to 400 degrees.  In a large bowl, combine the ricotta, broccoli, 2 cups of the mozzarella, 1/4 cup of the parmesan, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper.  In a small bowl, combine the marinara sauce and the cream.Spoon a thin lawyer of the sauce into the bottom of an 8-inch square baking dish.  Top with 2 noodles, a quarter of the remaining sauce, and a third of the broccoli mixture; repeat twice.  Top with the remaining 2 noodles and sauce.  Sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup of mozzarella and 1/4 cup of Parmesan. Cover tightly with an oiled piece of foil and bake until the noodles are tender, 35-40 minutes.  Uncover and bake until the top is golden brown, 10-15 minutes. 

I’ll be back from my trip Sunday night but after that things are probably going to change a little bit… now that I’ll have “normal” hours (i.e. 8-5 or so), I’m going to be cooking less during the week and more on the weekends.  We’re also going to have to plan ahead a few days at a time rather than deciding each night what we want to make that evening.  I probably won’t be posting complex and complicated meals in the middle of the week as much but I’ll be sure to keep posting as often as I can!

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Adventures, Dairy, Pareve, Travel, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

