Israeli Couscous

One of my favorite side-dishes to make with chicken or meat is Israeli couscous… it’s not really anything like regular couscous because it’s thicker and personally I think it’s more delicious.  Generally when I make it, I just follow the directions on the package only I use chicken broth instead of plain water to cook it.  Occasionally, however, I like to spice it up a little… I’ve found a few different recipes but my favorite one is from Kosher by Design Lightens Up, by Susie Fishbein, and it’s a Cranberry Couscous Salad:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 (8.8 oz.) boxes or bags of Israeli couscous
  • 4 cups of boiling water
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon orange juice
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon
  • 1/2 cup sweetened, dried cranberries, such as Craisins
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped pecans
  • 5 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme, leaves removed; discard stems

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.  Add the couscous and toast until slightly browned.  Add 4 cups boiling water.  Cover and simmer on low for 8-10 minutes, until the water is absorbed. Meanwhile, prepare the dressing: In a quart-sized container, combine the canola oil, cider vinegar, water, honey, orange juice, minced garlic, lemon juice, turmeric, thyme, salt, pepper, and tarragon.  With a whisk or immersion blender, blend until fully combined. When the couscous is done, fluff with a spoon or fork.  Pour in the dressing.  Add the cranberries, pecans and scallions.  Toss to fully combine.  Garnish with fresh thyme leaves. 

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Pareve, Side-Dishes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

