Autumnal Roasted Chicken

Now that Tropical Storm Lee has come and gone, New Orleans has had beautiful weather today!  It’s warm with just the slightest breeze and no humidity.  It finally feels like fall, which just so happens to be my favorite season!  There are so many things I love about fall including back-to-school shopping, pumpkins, Halloween costumes, and sweet potatoes!  Even though my birthday (September 9th) is not technically during the fall, it always seemed like the fall because it always happened right around the time we would go back to school each year, so that’s always fun too!

This recipe, originally from Real Simple, is one I’ve made several times before and it just screams to me when it starts to feel like the fall.  Try it and you’ll see why!

Ingredients:

  • One 3-and-a-half to 4 lb. chicken, cut into 8 pieces
  • 1 yellow onion, cut into 1-inch wedges
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 6 sprigs of fresh thyme

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Rinse the chicken and pat it dry.  Arrange the chicken, onion and sweet potatoes in a 9-by-13 inch baking dish.  Drizzle the oil over the chicken and vegetables and season with the salt and pepper.  Toss to coat.  Drizzle with the maple syrup and top with the sprigs of thyme. Roast, stirring the vegetables once, until the chicken is cooked through, about 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Holidays, Meat, Poultry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

