Tropical Storm Lee & Beer & Baking

Here in New Orleans, Tropical Storm Lee is sending us buckets full of rain and lots of wind, so yesterday morning after we went out for breakfast at our favorite neighborhood breakfast restaurant, Coulis (not a kosher restaurant but they have lots of vegetarian options, including Ken’s favorite, Huevos Rancheros), we stopped at the Grocery Store for beer and ingredients for baking.  Apparently we weren’t the only people who had that idea, since while we were in line at the Grocery Store, we actually ran into the owner of Coulis who was shopping with her son for wine (Malbec, to be precise) and ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies!  Last night we went going to a friend’s house for a 1992-style sleepover party to celebrate another friend’s birthday.  Rain forced them to move the party indoors and she told us to bring any of the following: take-out, board games, G-rated movies or booze… so we brought “Apples to Apples,” beer and the dessert described below…

One of my all-time favorite desserts is lemon bars/squares, and I found a neat recipe here for Raspberry Lemonade Bars, so I decided to try them out!  Ken & I actually made them together!  I was silly and didn’t take any photos while we were putting them together, but I got some when they were done cooking and then again when we cut them and sprinkled powdered sugar over them.  Everyone agreed that they were very tasty… just the right amount of tart and sweet.

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfasts, Dairy, Restaurants, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

