Fruit Cobbler & a Public Service Announcement

One common theme I’ve noticed with my cooking is that we find that we have a certain ingredient in our house that’s been there for a while and we need to find something to do with it before it goes bad… or we’ll buy a jar of a certain ingredient because it doesn’t come in smaller sizes but it turns out we only need one teaspoon of it, so we have to find all these recipes to use it in.  So yes… that is going to happen a lot over the next year, especially as we get closer to May, since at that time we’ll be moving and we won’t be able to bring a whole refrigerator or pantry full of food with us to our next destination.  Today’s example of this is frozen fruit.  (Later in the week looked for canned salmon and truffle cream, two other ingredients we don’t really know quite what to do with but I’m sure we’ll think of something!) Until about 10 minutes ago, we had a LOT of frozen fruit in our freezer.  I bought it all at some point thinking I would use it in smoothies or something… I probably made a couple of smoothies then got sick of smoothies and forgot about the fruit so it sat there until today when Ken asked me what I was going to do with all the frozen fruit in the freezer so I said… “invite someone over and we’ll have fruit cobbler!”  So… our friend Mike is coming over in a little bit, and in his own words, he likes “eating things,” so we’re feeding him fruit cobbler!

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees farenheit.

Mix together:

  • 4.5 cups of fruit (either fresh fruit or frozen fruit that you have defrosted) (I used peaches, blueberries and strawberries)
  • 4 Tablespoons of white sugar

In a separate bowl, combine:

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 2 cups of rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups of butter (which needs to be cut up into very small pieces)

Mix these ingredients together until they are crumbly.Press 1/2 of the dry ingredients into the bottom of a greased 9×13 inch pan.  Then pour in all of the fruit, and cover the fruit with the rest of the dry crumble mixture. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the top is a little browned and the fruit juice is bubbling.

And now for my brief Public Service Announcement: I wanted to clarify the reason that I started this blog in the first place, in case there have been any misconceptions.  I don’t ever hope to be a professional chef and I certainly don’t think I’m an expert by any means… in fact, I’ve only been cooking for about two years so I know I have a long way to go.  I started this blog after I started reading a lot of food blogs.  I noticed that there were all kinds of food blogs but the one type that seemed to be missing from the blogosphere (haha! I like that word!) was kosher food blogs.  I don’t mean “Jewish food blogs,” but kosher food blogs… blogs where people take non-kosher recipes, make a few slight changes and make them kosher, or where people showcase the fact that lots of recipes in mainstream cookbooks can easily be made kosher.  So I started cooking and taking photos while I did so, and put the recipes with the photos together on my blog.  I hope that some people might find my blog useful or interesting but if you don’t, that’s okay.  Food, like so many things in life, is very subjective… what I think is tasty may be disgusting to you and vice versa.  If you don’t like my blog, please don’t read it but please know I am not trying to show off or imply that my cooking is any better than anyone else’s.  I am open to suggestions and am certainly still learning to cook so if you see room for improvement, please let me know.

Thank you for reading, and happy blogging!

This entry was posted in Baking, Dairy, Desserts, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruit Cobbler & a Public Service Announcement

  1. Colline says:

    You should not apologise for wanting to make your recipes kosher. I have noticed bloogers posting vegan/vegetarian recipes who are not worried about offending people. We all have the right to choose the way we wish to eat – and those wishing to eat kosher are no different. So continue blogging about what is important to you – and to your readers. 🙂

Leave a comment