Salad with Strawberries & Peaches, and Pasta with Homemade Pesto, Salmon, Mushrooms and Artichoke Hearts

These two recipes are loosely based on other recipes I’ve seen, but I made major changes to them and therefore have made them my own recipes.  First, my own homemade pesto…

For a while now, I’ve been wanting to make my own homemade pesto, but I had heard that it’s not really worth it.  I had also seen very different kinds of pesto recipes: some with basil, some with parsley, some with pine nuts, some with almonds, and it was hard to decide which one to go with to get the perfect pesto recipe, so I looked at a few and came up with my own:

  • 2 cups of packed basil leaves
  • 1 cup of pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup of slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup (plus a little extra) olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • a LARGE pinch of salt
  • some grated pepper

First, place the basil leaves and the nuts in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until chopped finely.  Add the garlic.  While pulsing on and off, slowly add the olive oil until the pesto mixture has the right consistency.  It should not be too liquidy but it should also not be too much like a paste.  If necessary, add more olive oil.

Taste frequently while adding salt and pepper, to determine proper amounts of each.  That’s what my pesto looked like at the end… and it was quite tasty!

Now for the Pasta Recipe:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. of salmon
  • 10-12 mushrooms
  • 6 oz. jar of marinated artichoke hearts (drained)
  • 1 16-oz. box of pasta (of your choice)
  • Homemade pesto (recipe above)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • parmesan cheese to garnish

First, place the salmon and mushrooms on a baking dish, and spray with olive oil spray, and season with salt and pepper. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.Next, cook the pasta according to the directions on the box.

When the pasta and the salmon and mushrooms are done cooking, mix the pasta with the mushrooms, the artichokes, the salmon (which you can just break into pieces and mix into the pasta), and some of the homemade pesto sauce (recipe above).  Add salt and pepper to taste, and garnish with parmesan cheese.  To complete this meal, I also made a salad which was very simple… it contained the spring mix salad, along with 1 peach, cut up into bite-sized pieces, 7 strawberries, quartered, and crumbled feta cheese.  My personal favorite dressing is a new poppyseed dressing I found, which tastes delicious on the strawberries and peaches.

This entry was posted in Dairy, Fish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salad with Strawberries & Peaches, and Pasta with Homemade Pesto, Salmon, Mushrooms and Artichoke Hearts

  1. xany says:

    reading this is making me hungry!

  2. This is one of my favorite meals. I am looking at your recipes and we have similar taste. 🙂 Delicious food!

Leave a Reply

