Six Flags New Orleans

Ken heard from one of his friends that it is easy to get into the Six Flags New Orleans amusement park (which closed down after Hurricane Katrina) so yesterday we went out there and explored.  The parking lot was easily accessible and the front gates to the park were wide open, so we didn’t have any trouble getting in.  Once in, we were approached once by a couple of guys working security for a film production company (that was filming a movie in the parking lot) who asked us what we were up to.  We told them we were wandering around and taking photos and they just said to be careful and told us to have fun.  I brought my camera with me and took a lot of photos (some of which are posted below).  I don’t feel that I can quite put words together that do justice to what we saw.  It was sad, depressing, overwhelming and surreal.  Here are some of the photos so you can see for yourself.

Let this be a reminder of the destruction caused by Hurricane Katrina.  Though a lot of progress has been made in the nearly 6 years since the storm, there is so much more work to be done, and more than just physical rebuilding.  A friend of mine commented on some of these photos:

“This makes me very sad. I went there so many times as Jazzland and then later as Six Flags—I remember the rides, the shops, the food stands. You think of how far this city has come since Katrina, and then you see this post-apocalyptic wasteland festering in the east, serving as a constant reminder that all is not well.”

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Adventures, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

