Salmon Teriyaki

Salmon is one of my absolute all-time favorite foods in the whole wide world.  If I could, I would probably eat salmon for every meal.  I would have scrambled eggs with lox and cream cheese for breakfast, a bagel with cream cheese and lox for lunch and salmon cooked any number of ways for dinner.  For hors d’oeuvres I would have salmon with chives and cream cheese on little crackers and at tea time I would make tea sandwiches with salmon and cucumbers.  Really, I’ve thought about ways that I could survive on an only-salmon diet, but then I realized that I would miss out on all kinds of vitamins and minerals that you get from other foods… so instead I settle for having salmon once or twice a month.  It’s hard, but somehow I manage.

So tonight I made salmon!  Salmon teriyaki, to be precise… and it turned out as yummy as it is in Japanese restaurants!

Ingredients:

  • 4 salmon steaks, 1 inch thick (4-6 oz. each)
  • 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of ground black pepper
  • 6 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Asian sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon of minced, peeled fresh ginger

Directions:

Preheat broiler.  Rub both sides of salmon steaks with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

In small saucepan, combine soy sauce, Asian sesame oil, brown sugar, garlic and ginger.  Heat to boiling over medium-high heat.  Boil until mixture has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes.  Strain through fine-mesh sieve; discard solids.

Place salmon on rack in broiling pan.  Place pan in broiler, 4 inches from heat source.  Broil salmon for 3 minutes, then brush with glaze and broil 2 minutes more.  Turn steaks and broil 3 minutes; brush with glaze and broil 2 minutes more.

Serve with rice and your favorite steamed vegetable.

This entry was posted in Fish, Pareve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salmon Teriyaki

  1. I found your site through Pragmatic Attic. I look forward to seeing more kosher recipes!
    This salmon looks wonderful. I make a similar dish with honey instead of the brown sugar. Will have to try it this way.
    Good to meet you!
    — Rivki

Leave a Reply

