Banana Raspberry Muffins

For some reason having extra almost rotten bananas seems to be a theme in my blog, to the point that maybe I should even have a whole separate category of banana recipes, but that would be kind of strange.  Anyways… last week Ken asked me to buy bananas so I bought 5 but neither of us ate any bananas during the week so I had to find something to do with five almost rotten bananas.  Banana bread is getting old (I feel like I make it practically once or twice a month) so I decided to try something new… banana raspberry muffins (used up 3 of the almost rotten bananas and I’ll probably make a smoothie of some kind with the other two).  I also decided to try adding sour cream in an effort to keep the muffins moist since the last time I made banana muffins, they turned out very dry.  So here we go… banana raspberry muffins:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 lb. of butter
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 overripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup of sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 pint (i.e. 2 cups–I had to look up how to convert pints to cups) of raspberries

Directions:

Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Cream butter with sugar, until fluffy.  Beat in eggs.  Add the mushed up bananas, sour cream and vanilla and beat until blended.

Add half of the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and beat to combine, then add the rest of the dry ingredients and beat to combine.

Fold in raspberries.

Spoon into muffin tins and bake in preheated 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes, until a fork or toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out dry.

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Breakfasts, Dairy, Vegetarian, What to do with old Bananas?! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

