Dahlia’s FANTASTIC Challah!

Every week when Ken and I go to Shabbat dinner at the home Rabbi Uri and Dahlia (from Beth Israel in Metairie–shoutout to Metairie!), we leave and Ken says to me something along the lines of: “why can’t your challah be as good as Dahlia’s challah?” So I pestered Dahlia for her recipe and she sent it to me so I thought I would share it with all of you since she truly does make the most delicious challah I think I have ever tasted–it’s moist and has the perfect flavor!

Here’s the recipe (from Dahlia):
2 tsp salt
6.5 cups flour
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup sugar
3 packets of dry yeast
2 c. warm water
1 egg
1/2 cup oil
1 egg to brush on challah

Directions (I use electric mixer): 1. put in salt and then flour, and mix
2.Then put in honey and sugar, and sprinke yeast on top of sugar.
3. Put water (luke warm) on top of sugar and make sure you see it bubling.
4. After it bubbles, you could mix it
5. Add an egg and mix
6. add oil slowly and mix
7. remove dough from mixer and knead
8. let rise for 2 hours
9. braid and let rise another 1.5-2 hours
10. brush with egg
11. bake at 350 for 25 minutes
12. let cool on rack (very important)
* I make 3 challahs and 2 rolls with this amount of dough but you could prob make 4 smaller challahs if you wanted.

1/3/2011 Edit: While I was home in California for New Years I finally tried to make Dahlia’s challah recipe on my own and it turned out quite well.  While in the process of baking, my mom was looking over my shoulder scrutinizing my every move, since she has never really seen me cook before, and Ken decided to snap some particularly amusing photos of my mom and me:

We ended up serving the challah at our new years’ day brunch and 3 of the four challahs I made disappeared in a matter of hours.  Everyone thought it was delicious and had the perfect consistency.  So from now on Dahlia’s challah recipe will be the one I’ll follow.

This entry was posted in Bread, Pareve, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dahlia’s FANTASTIC Challah!

  1. Pingback: Shabbat Dinner | Because kosher can be sexy, too!

Leave a Reply

