What to do with old bananas?!?!

So my husband and I are leaving today to head up to New Jersey/New York for Thanksgiving and YESTERDAY I realized that we had 4 old bananas… It was the kind of old banana that I wouldn’t ever just pick up and eat but they are great for certain kinds of cooking.  So of course… I made banana bread, which took care of 3 of the bananas (and which we packed up in tin foil and are bringing with us for Thanksgiving so that the whole family can enjoy it), and I made a smoothie with the fourth banana!

Banana Bread Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 over-ripe bananas, mashed up
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar (I used light brown sugar this time since we were out of dark brown sugar and it turned out fine)
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • Whatever other ingredients you feel like adding in… blueberries, chocolate chips, walnuts, raisins, etc.  Any of those would be good.  My husband prefers chocolate chips and walnuts so that’s what I used–about a cup of each!

Directions:

  • Mix flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl
  • In a separate bowl mix the butter (melted) with the brown sugar until creamy, then add the mashed up bananas
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly
  • If you’re going to add any other ingredients, add them now by just stirring them in
  • Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and cook 60-70 minutes on 350 until a toothpick stuck into the bread comes out clean.

Banana bread with chocolate chips and walnuts

Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

With the 4th over-ripe banana I had, I decided to make a banana-peanut butter smoothie.  I had looked up a bunch of recipes for banana peanut butter smoothies but none of them looked quite right, so I decided to make up my own!

Ingredients:

  • 1 overly-ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup of milk–whatever kind you prefer to use–I used 1% but I’m sure it would be fine with skim, 2% or whole milk, for that matter
  • 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter–again, whatever kind you prefer.  Creamy is probably better than chunky but I just used whatever we had.
  • 8-10 ice cubes, depending on how thick or liquid you like your smoothies

Blend them all together and enjoy!

Sadly I don’t have a photo of my smoothie since I drank it for breakfast already but it was delicious.  Next time I might try adding a little squirt of honey to make it more sweet but other than that it was quite tasty, and full of protein AND fiber!

I hope everyone has a wonderful and safe Thanksgiving.  I’d love to hear funny stories about the pat-down searches or body scanners!

 

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Breakfasts, Dairy, Vegetarian, What to do with old Bananas?! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

