Gender Reveal Cupcakes

So one big trend right now is the “Gender Reveal” party… and since we’re nerdy like that, we decided that we are going to do a “Gender Reveal” for our families tomorrow night.  See… Ken is graduating from Medical School on Saturday (that’s right, I’ll be married to a DOCTAH!) and so our whole families are coming in tomorrow.  We have dinner reservations at a Thai restaurant tomorrow night and then afterward, we are going to do the “Gender Reveal.”  Basically, my friend Kathleen and I followed a Martha Stewart Recipe to make cupcakes and frosting… we made frosting in two different colors–yellow to frost the top of the cupcakes–and either PINK or BLUE for the inside.  We used a special tip on a pastry bag to squirt some of the PINK or BLUE icing inside the cupcake, so that when people bite into the cupcake they will see the color and know instantly whether the baby is a boy or a girl!  Kathleen also had some King Cake Babies lying around so we put them on top of the cupcakes to decorate them. 

This is the cupcake recipe we used, and This is the Buttercream recipe we used.

Here are the cupcakes with their beautiful little babies on top:

I, for one, think they turned out pretty well!

You’ll just have to wait to find out though whether they were filled with PINK or BLUE frosting!

And… just for kicks, here’s a Baby Bump picture from yesterday, at 17 weeks and 1 day… just 3 more weeks until we’re half baked!

About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Dairy, Desserts, Parties, Baking, Babies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gender Reveal Cupcakes

  1. kathleenbyrnes says:

    The cupcakes turned out so well! I hope everything goes as planned. :D

Leave a Reply

