Potato Leek Soup

One thing that I find really annoying is when grocery stores sell things in fixed amounts… for example, at the grocery store that we frequent, you can only buy 3 leeks at a time.  They’re not sold by the pound like some things, so you’re rewarded if you get less, they’re sold by the bunch (of 3).  So the problem is that if you have a recipe that calls for only 1 leek or 2 leeks, then you’re stuck with extra leeks.  And if you’re like me, you don’t want to see those leeks sit at the back of your refrigerator and go to waste, so you have to find a recipe that calls for the 1 or 2 leeks that you have left.  So… after making the Cream of Asparagus Soup during Passover last week, we were left with 2 extra leeks.  I sent Ken on a mission to find a recipe for potato leek soup that called for 2 leeks and 3 potatoes (since that’s the number of potatoes we happened to have at home) and what do you know?!  My clever husband was able to find just the recipe.  I changed it around a little to make it our own and here’s what we came up with:

Potato and Leek Soup (Dairy but can easily be made Meat or Parve depending on the ingredients you use)

  • 2 tablespoons of butter (or if you want to make it Parve or Meat, you can use Margarine or a little bit of cooking oil)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 leeks, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 4 cups of chicken stock (the kind of chicken stock we use is actually fake chicken stock, so it’s Parve and it’s okay to use it with dairy products but if you wanted to you could use real chicken stock)
  • 3 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon of dried tarragon
  • 1 cup low fat milk (again… if you want to make it Parve you could substitute non-dairy creamer)
Melt butter in saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and leeks, saute gently until soft. Stir in flour and cook for 2 minutes.  Gradually stir in stock.
Add potatoes.  
Bring to a boil.  Simmer gently for 30-40 minutes, or until the potatoes are soft.  Stir in milk and seasonings.
Using an immersion blender, puree the soup until smooth.  Add salt and pepper to taste.The soup was delicious… very creamy!  Ken said it was almost like a chowder!  For dinner we had the soup and artichokes.  After eating part of my artichoke I was full, so I proceeded to play with my food (kids, don’t try this at home!) and I made my artichoke into a flower, see?!
About Anna Levin

My name is Anna. My husband, Ken, and I live in Baltimore, where we are every mother's dream: he's an Ophthalmology resident and I am a lawyer! On October 8th, 2012 we welcomed our baby girl, Julia Rose, into the world so as you can imagine we are very busy chasing after her and watching her grow and learn as she explores the world around her! In my free time, I enjoy cooking, reading, blogging, spending time with my family and taking long walks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing this journey and hope that in doing so, I can provide some insight for other first time moms. While you're at it, check out my personal blog: MyLittlePoppyseed
This entry was posted in Dairy, Meat, Pareve, Soup, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Potato Leek Soup

  1. My grocery also sells leeks in threes and I always wondered why. :)
    Great looking recipe, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

